A driver who is involved in a car accident is required to remain on the scene in the state of Maryland, and fleeing the scene of an accident can result in penalties. Hit-and-run accidents may happen for a variety of reasons, including due to a driver being uninsured. According to a recent news report, a 23-year-old male died after a pedestrian hit-and-run crash. Interstate 95 in Maryland was closed for over four hours as a result of the accident. A man and a woman passenger parked on the side of the road and were having a discussion outside of their vehicle. During the conversation, the woman entered the highway and the man attempted to pull her back from the road. While in the roadway, the male was struck by a Nissan Altima. The Nissan Altima fled the scene. While laying injured on the road, a tractor-trailer also struck the male but failed to stop their vehicle. Soon after, a Honda CRV additionally struck the male and stopped on the shoulder to call 911.
Penalties for Hit-and-Run Drivers
Pursuant to Maryland law, leaving the scene of an accident that results in serious bodily injury is a felony that is punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. However, if the hit-and-run accident results in death and the driver was found to have reasonably known that the accident caused death, perpetrators can face up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. Additionally, hit-and-run accidents in Maryland can lead to 8 to 12 points on a driver’s license.